Her Excellency Karena Lyons presented Credentials to His Excellency President Peter M. Christian as the new Ambassador of New Zealand to the Federated States of Micronesia


On Wednesday, September 13, 2017, President Peter M. Christian received the Letter of Credence of Her Excellency Karena Lyons, Ambassador of New Zealand to the Federated States of Micronesia, in an official ceremony held at the President’s conference room.


During the ceremony, President Christian welcomed Ambassador Lyons and thanked her for taking her time to visit the FSM to formally present her Credentials as the new Ambassador of New Zealand to the FSM.  He acknowledged and thanked the New Zealand Government through Ambassador Lyons for the bilateral cooperation and assistance provided by New Zealand, such as the capacity training and scholarship, and other areas of cooperation.


President Christian reiterated that Climate Change is still a priority for the FSM and acknowledged and thanked New Zealand for it supports to the Pacific Islands Forum and other International fora on the issue.


Ambassador Lyons thanked the President and expressed her appreciation for the warm welcome and for accepting her letter of credence.  She also expressed the New Zealand Government’s appreciation to the FSM for its support at the United Nations.


The President concluded his courtesy call on the Ambassador by her inviting to also visit the others States. He also encouraged Ambassador to continue strengthening the relationship between the FSM and New Zealand.


During Ambassador Lyons’ visit to the FSM for her presentation of credentials, she also paid courtesy call on Speaker Wesley W. Simina, FSM Congress as well as on Heads of Departments of the National Government.  She also paid a courtesy call on the Dean of the Diplomatic Corps and Resident Ambassadors of the People’s Republic of China, Japan, Australia and the United States.


In attendance at the Presentation of Credentials ceremony were Vice President Yosiwo P. George, Secretary Marion Henry, Secretary Joses Gallen, Deputy Secretary Samson Pretrick, the Chief of Staff, along with staff from the President’s Office and Foreign Affairs.