Formal diplomatic relations established between the Federated States of Micronesia and the Republic of Paraguay 

October 11, 2017 (New York) – The Government of the Federated states of Micronesia, represented by its Permanent Mission to the United Nations in New York, entered into formal diplomatic relations with the Government of the Republic of Paraguay when its Permanent Representative Ambassador Jane J. Chigiyal signed with her counterpart Ambassador Julio Cesar Arriola Ramirez, a Joint Communique on the Establishment of Diplomatic Relations between their two countries. The event took place today, 11 October 2017, and was witnessed by the two nations Deputy Permanent Representatives and staff of the two Permanent Missions.

The establishment of diplomatic relations by the Government of the Federated States of Micronesia is part of the Government’s wider efforts to pursue new friendships and partnerships with member states of the United Nations.

Paraguay, like Micronesia, is a member of the United Nations, and both countries are also members of the Group of 77 and China. A landlocked country in central South America, Paraguay is bordered by Argentina to the south and southwest, Brazil to the east and northeast, and Bolivia to the northwest.