FSM/EU Short-Stay Visa Waiver

Palikir, POHNPEI (FSM Information Service): The Federated States of Micronesia and the European Union have completed their respective internal procedures necessary for the entry into force of the Agreement on the short-stay visa waiver and have notified each other of the completion of their internal procedures for ratification. In accordance to Article 8.1 of the Agreement, the Agreement will enter into force on August 1, 2017.

On September 19, 2016, at the margins of the UNGA in New York, the Federated States of Micronesia (FSM) Secretary of Foreign Affairs Lorin S. Robert signed an agreement with Minister of Foreign Affairs Miroslav Lajčák (Slovakia) and Commissioner for Migration Dimitris Avramopoulos (European Commission) for short-term visa free travel to Europe for FSM citizens.

This reciprocal agreement makes it possible for FSM and EU citizens to enter each other’s territories without visas and stay for a maximum period of 90 days. The visa waiver applies to travelers traveling for purposes such as tourism, international meetings, business meetings, and sporting events.

The ratification of the visa waiver agreement was the final step in a process that began in 2014.